Crazy Scone Challenge!

In the blurb about my blog you will see the words “for busy mums who want to use their creative side”.  Well this post is written with that specifically in mind. Yesterday after picking my eldest from school, rushing home, giving all three their tea then dropping eldest at Rainbows, I had 40 whole minutes until I had to pick up. Wow, that is quite a chunk of time for someone like me.  I did not want to waste it so I carefully considered what to do. There were lots chores that I could have done like fold the washing, tidy the bedrooms, order my food shop or make some calls but instead I decided to set myself a challenge, and see if I could bake something in that time.  ‘Crazy” I hear you say!   Yes, I might agree with you there, after all I did not list the obvious option of sitting down and having a cup of tea but once I had the challenge idea in my head, there was no going back, I had to do it.

The requirements were quick, easy and something that the kids would like. Lots of scope there and after a rummage through my fridge and cupboards the decision was made. Little scones with feta, sundried tomato and caramelised balsamic onion.  Sweet, salty and tangy all at the same time, making these just a little bit more sophisticated than your average savory scone.  You might already know this about me, but I like to create mini sized food.  In this case I think the small size makes the scones much more versatile.  They are perfect for snack time, picnics (can’t wait now that the weather is improving) jazzing up your lunch and can even be made as little canapés served with chilli jam maybe?  They freeze well and can be defrosted and warmed up in a jiffy by using the microwave.

Little scones with feta, sundried tomato and caramelised balsamic onion

Here’s what you will need:

  • 200g self raising flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 40g/1 1/2 oz butter
  • 100ml (3 1/2 fl oz) milk and a little bit extra for brushing the tops of the scones
  • 6 sundried tomatoes
  • 25g feta cheese
  • 1 med onion chopped up finely
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • Small scone cutter
  • Greased baking tray
  • Pastry brush (I use a silicone one and think they are fab)

Makes about 18 mini scones

So the big question now, is did I manage to make them in the 40 minutes?  Well here is how I got on.

How to make:

Time: 40 mins

  • First thing I did was to chop the onions up and I did this in my magimix as if I’m giving onion to the kids it has to be really small
  • Then I put the chopped onion in a small saucepan with the olive oil and let it cook on a low heat for about 5 mins.  I then turned the oven on to 220c/gas 7.
  • After 5 mins, add the vinegar and sugar to your onions.  Stir regularly and keep on a low heat

Time: 31 mins to go

  • Now I put the sundried tomatoes and feta cheese in the magimix and whizzed for about 5 seconds, until a rough paste is made.  I kept this to one side and started to make the scones
  • In a big mixing bowl add the flour and butter.  Mix together either by hand by rubbing through your fingertips, or in the mixer until it looks like breadcrumbs.  Add the tomato and feta paste along with the onions which should by now have had about 15 mins to cook in the saucepan and should be nice and soft and have absorbed the sugar and vinegar

Time: 22 mins to go

  • Mix the dry ingredients in, and once combined slowly add the milk and mix until a soft dough is formed
  • Take the dough out of the bowl and onto a lightly floured surface.  Lightly knead and then roll out.  Make sure that the dough rolled out thickly (about 3 cm) as this is the secret to lovely high scones.  Cut out the scones and place on the baking tray.  Bring leftover bits of dough together and roll out again until all the dough is used up

Time: 13 mins to go

  • Brush the tops with milk and place in the oven for 10-11 mins until the tops are golden

As soon as the scones came out, I turned off the oven, placed them onto a cooling rack and ran out the door to do the pick up.  I did not have time for the washing up so left the kitchen like a bit of a bombsite.

However, most of it went in the dishwasher, and I had  ‘ warm from the oven’ scones to munch on whilst I was doing it.  Not so bad after all!

I’m hoping that anybody out there who feels they don’t have time to bake will be inspired by my ‘Crazy Scone Challenge’ and find 40 mins today or tomorrow to get stuck in and create a little something that has the potential to make your day as these little beauties certainly made mine.

These scones can also be entered into the Tea Time Treats blog challenge which is savory or sweet scones!  This month the challenge is hosted by Karen from Lavender and Loveage and is shared with Kate from What Kate Baked.

15/03/2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , . Party, Savory Baking.

9 Comments

  1. Karen @ Lavender and Lovage replied:

    A WONDERFUL entry for Tea Time Treats thanks Fleur, you KNOW I am a big savoury scone fan and these tick all my scone boxes for flavour! I am always on a “crazy” schedule, but I may take your challenge for the next batch of scones I make, 40 minutes!
    Karen

  2. cakeboule replied:

    I love the sound of these – the combinaton of feta, tomatoes and onions sounds delicious a very sophiticated scone I would say. I am glad I am not alone in the kitchen looking like a bombs hit it scenario!

    • Homemade By Fleur replied:

      I’m afraid my kitchen often looks like that! Always seem to be tidying up, but then always have something freshly baked on the side so totally worth it.

  3. Sarah, Maison Cupcake replied:

    mmm yum, I’d been thinking sun dried tomato would work well in scones!

  4. Lauralovescakes replied:

    I have to say I’m a sweet scone girl…but I could be tempted by these! 🙂

  5. Hannah replied:

    They are so cute! Love the Mediterranean vibe with the feta and tomatoes too 🙂

  6. Chrissie Stubbs replied:

    Hi, Fleur,
    Really enjoyed watching your Baking Mad episode – keep on baking!
    Love from,
    Chrissie x

    • Homemade By Fleur replied:

      Thank you so much for your comment Chrissie. It’s so nice of you to say, and I’m glad you popped by and had a look at my blog too. X

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

