Mini Cupcakes for Valentines Day

I know this is my second Valentine inspired post, (first one being my packed lunch made with love) but I just could not resist and think you might like it.

Cupcakes look amazing, there is no doubt about that, but for me the mountain of buttercream icing is a bit too much.  However, give me a bite-sized version and everything changes.  I’m quite happy to indulge in a completely guilt free fashion, and maybe even pop a second in for luck.  Well they are only little so why not?  Mini cupcakes can look just as amazing as bigger ones, and their size demands attention because they just look so cute.  If you get creative in the way you present them, there is definite potential for the ‘wow factor’.

When I found out I was picked by Bakingmad.com as one of 15 bloggers to bake in their Valentine competition, I immediately started to think about how I could create an extra special entry which would include a few mini cupcakes.  After all the brief was to make something I would want to receive myself!  A few days later the idea of a mini cupcake selection box came to me.  This is my alternative to the traditional box of chocolates that might get given on Valentines I guess, but much more thoughtful and definitely more memorable.  I was thrilled with how the end result looked.  Even better than I had imagined.  I think these would be perfect for a birthday gift or any other occasion too.

So what flavours did I pick with so many to choose from?  Here are my final four:

Hazelnut and chocolate: two of my favourite flavour combinations

Strawberry and white chocolate: it’s valentine’s after all so a bit of pink had to feature somewhere

Green tea: this is my experimental side coming out.  I love the taste of these and the green colour that is totally natural

Peanut Butter: a bit of fun, and my daughters LOVE peanut butter

It is easy to change any of these (if you would like) to a flavour that you would prefer.  Just put a quarter (from the recipe you use) of any ‘flavour’ ingredient in the cake batter mix and give it a whirl.

Makes 24 mini cupcakes and a few regular sized ones as well.

What you will need:

Basic cake batter

  • 240g plain flour
  • 200g sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 80g unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 240ml whole milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla paste

Flavour ingredients

  • 1 tbsp crunchy peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp white chocolate chips
  • 5g cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp nutella
  • 1 tsp green tea matcha power

Icings and decoration (for the mini cupcakes, I just used more of the chocolate melt to cover the bigger ones I made as well)

I used a lot of Silver Spoon products as Baking Mad were kind enough to send me a selection for use in the competition, but you can get creative with any sprinkles or icing you might have in the cupboard already.

  • half a pack of Silver Spoon strawberry chocolate buttons
  • 1 pack each of Silver Spoon white and dark chocolate easy melt (you won’t use a whole pack but can seal up with a freezer clip and use another time)
  • 1 Silver Spoon giant white chocolate snowie chopped up (I actually love these as the chocolate is lovely and they are really colourful so I’m sure the rest of the pack will get used up pretty quickly)
  • a sprinkle of Silver Spoon chocolate heart duos and hundreds and thousands
  • Sprinkle of chopped hazelnuts
  • 125g icing sugar
  • 40g unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 15ml of whole milk
  • 1 tsp green tea matcha powder

You will also need a 24 hole mini cupcake tin and cases, piping bag and piping nozzle (I use the Wilton M1 nozzle), old small box (I used an empty chocolate box)

How to make:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 170c/325f/gas 3
  2. Put the flour, sugar, baking powder and butter in a freestanding electric mixer with a paddle attachment and mix until fully combined with a breadcrumb like consistency
  3. Put the milk, vanilla paste and eggs in a measuring jug, lightly whisk with a fork and add slowly to the dry ingredients in the mixing bowl and mix until smooth
  4. Divide the mixture into four separate bowls and add the nutella and cocoa to one, matcha powder to another, peanut butter to another and white chocolate chips to the final bowl
  5. Fill up 6 of the cases 2/3 full with each of the mixtures (any left over mixture put into large cases or make more little ones)
  6. Bake in the oven for 10-12 mins (any bigger ones you make will need 20 mins)
  7. Whilst baking, I made the green tea buttercream by putting the butter, icing sugar and milk in a freestanding electric mixer with a paddle attachment and mix slowly to start (icing sugar will fly everywhere otherwise) and then quicker until smooth.  This normally takes at least 2-3 mins of mixing to get it smooth
  8. Once cakes are out and cooled you can start the really fun part and decorate them
  9. I put the white chocolate easy melt onto the peanut butter cupcakes and topped with small pieces of the white chocolate snowie.  You have to work quick with the easy melt as it dries and hardens pretty quickly.  I used a palette knife to spread it on
  10. I put the dark chocolate easy melt on the chocolate and hazelnut cupcakes and sprinkled with chopped hazelnuts and a bit of gold edible glitter
  11. I spread melted strawberry chocolate buttons on the white chocolate chip cupcakes, then sprinkled with hundreds and thousands and for a final valentines touch added a chocolate heart
  12. And for the green tea cupcakes I put the buttercream in a piping bag, iced starting on the outside working in to make a little swirl, and the same the strawberry cupcakes, finished with a chocolate heart
  13. To present I put 16 of my mini cupcakes in an empty box that used to have Christmas chocolates in and tied a pink ribbon round it

I am also entering this for not one, but two blog challenges!

The first is a regular challenge for me now and is this months Tea Times Treats run by Karen from Lavender and Lovage and Kate from What Kate Baked. This months theme is ‘romance’.

The second is my first entry to English Mum’s ‘Baked with Love’ bakeoff.  I’ve just started reading this fablous blog and can recommend popping over for a look yourselves.

https://i0.wp.com/englishmum.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/Baked-with-Love-Bakeoff-150px.jpg

PS:  Did any of you spot the sneaky pic of my very own Valentines pressie from my DH?

Disclaimer- I do not work for Baking Mad nor did not get paid to write this review.

13/02/2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Celebration, Homemade gifts, Party, Sweet Baking.

19 Comments

  1. hannah Jones replied:

    They look lovely Fleur, beautiful pictures as always 🙂

  2. Christina Alteirac replied:

    They look scrummy!! Any valentine would be lucky to receive these xxx

  3. Sara harrison replied:

    Wow, they look fab and mini sized is such a good idea.
    I think I might spend tomorrow making some of these with the boys. They will love the peanut butter ones.
    I did see your beautiful valentines pressie too! Xx

  4. Frenchtot replied:

    Fleur they look wobderful! Well done u deserve to win! Your recipes and info are so consise and pro and the Photos are fab!! Did you get that stunning cake stand from DH?! Stunning!
    My girls bought me a macaroon set today for my bday! Will let u know how they turn out! My DH bought me Quay (nature cookbook) stunning!! Got everything crossed for you!!! Xxxx

    • Homemade By Fleur replied:

      Well spotted! Yes the cake stand was from DH. Although I picked it and asked for it :-). LEt me know how you go with the macaroon, and Happy Birthday. xxx

  5. lester @ cupcakeideasforyou.com replied:

    A perfect gift for this valentines seasons! Thanks for sharing four different flavors of mini cupcakes.

  6. whatkatebaked replied:

    What beautiful beautiful Valentine gifts and thank you so much for entering them into Tea Time Treats!

  7. Valentine’s Blogger Competition Winners! « Baking Mad replied:

    […] Homemade by Fleur made Mini Valentine’s Cupcakes […]

  8. thelittleloaf replied:

    Congratulations on your runner up win in the Baking Mad challenge – these cupcakes are so cute! 🙂

  9. Cakeboule replied:

    Oh my such cute liitle parcels of cupcake heaven! They look adorable and moreish and just so cute! Love these so much. Well done on being runner up they are beautiful.

    • Homemade By Fleur replied:

      Thank you. It is such a great feeling when something turns out even better better than you imagine. Makes up for all the times this does not happen 😉

  10. Cakes and Teacups replied:

    I love cupcakes and they are beautiful. All of your flavours sounds delicious especially the Hazelnut Chocolate. My favourite combination : )

    • Homemade By Fleur replied:

      Thank you :-). I get really excited every time someone comments on my blog. It’s just so nice getting feedback and that people like what you do. I’ll be taking a look at your website too.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

