Lamingtons

After a very exciting day filming Baking Mad with Eric Lanlard yesterday, I came back to earth with a bit of a bump this morning. The school run was freezing, the washing mountain piled high and my baby boy not well at all. I still have a big smile on my face though and am so pleased that I went for it and enjoyed the experience. I feel even more inspired about my baking, which is amazing really given how much I loved it before. So today, to help with the reality blues I decided that a bit of baking was in order .

On Australia Day last week one of my Australian friends posted a picture of her lamingtons on Twitter and ever since I have been thinking about them. I have made them quite a few times before, but not for a while. If I had a Pinterest account I might have posted pictures of lamingtons on there, but I don’t (yet) so I made a mental note instead.

Lamingtons are essentially a plain sponge cut into squares, covered in chocolate and sprinkled with desiccated coconut. It’s not just any old sponge though, it is a sponge that is mostly eggs and flour, with a little bit of sugar and butter. The result is a sturdier sponge, (needed for the cutting into neat squares and then dunking in chocolate) that tastes amazing. A bit like a sponge/biscuit combo. The only thing that I can think of that compares is those little sponge fingers you can buy to make the base of your trifle with, except this sponge is not as crunchy as those by a long way.

There is no getting away from the fact that decorating lamingtons is a messy affair. Once dunked they need somewhere to ‘drip dry’ and the best place is on a cooling rack. My eldest daughter helped me with ours this evening. We had a lot of fun. It’s a great interpretation of messy play. As long as you don’t mind the licking of fingers, which will happen, my advice is to get stuck in and enjoy.

I should also mention that I have a special friend who moved to Australia last April for 3 years. I’m so proud of her for getting stuck into the Australian lifestyle and coping amazingly well with the change. So these cakes and this post is especially for Emily. I hope she makes some and can enjoy them too.

The recipe I use for reference is from Tanya Ramsay’s cookbook, Real Family Food’ (pg 224). I have made a few alterations for example, less chocolate icing because I had a fair bit left over when I made it to Tanya’s recipe, but that’s just my opinion. For tea time treat life saver, try making double the amount of sponge and freezing the extra squares until needed and icing them once defrosted.

What you will need

For the sponge

  • 3 eggs
  • 75g caster sugar
  • 125g self raising flour
  • 25g cornflour
  • 3 tbsp hot water
  • 25g unsalted butter, melted

For the chocolate icing

  • 250g icing sugar
  • 40g cocoa
  • 7g unsalted butter, melted
  • 110ml milk
  • 25g desiccated coconut for sprinkling on top

Makes 16 squares

How to make:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180c/350f/gas 4
  2. Lightly grease a medium rectangle shaped tin (approx 18cm x 23cm) and line with greaseproof paper
  3. Mix the eggs together in a large bowl until thick and creamy and then add the sugar and mix until dissolved
  4. Sieve in the flour and cornflour, then add the water and butter and mix with until smooth
  5. Pour into prepared tin and bake for about 30 mins. Place on a wire cooling rack and allow to cool completely. Trim off any golden edges and then cut into medium sized squares. Though you might want to cut into smaller squares if you are making this mostly for kiddie consumption, or even use a cookie cutter for fun shapes, (although there will be some excess sponge with this option)
  6. For the chocolate icing sieve the icing sugar and cocoa powder into a large bowl, add the milk, water and butter and stir together until smooth. Then, put the bowl over a pan of hot water and stir again until silky and glossy. Add a dash more milk if you think it is looking a bit thick or stiff.
  7. Use a fork to hold the sponge squares and dunk into the chocolate icing until completely covered. Pull out and let it drip for a few seconds over the bowl and then place on a cooling rack and sprinkle with the coconut. Leave to set and then tuck in. These are best eaten on the day you make them but can be kept for up to 3 days in an airtight container. As the letter for the first ever AlphaBake blog challenge is ‘L’ it would be rude not to enter this blog post. The Alpha Bake challenge is hosted this month by Ros from The More Than Occasional Baker blog. Ros shares the hosting of this challenge with Caroline from Caroline Bakes blog. Looking forward to seeing all the other entries.
31/01/2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Homemade for the kids, Party, Sweet Baking, Uncategorized.

10 Comments

  1. Celeste A. replied:

    Looks lovely. I will have to make some for my Australian friend one day soon.

  2. bakingaddict replied:

    Thank you so much for entering this to AlphaBakes! How exciting that you got to film with Eric Lanlard and Baking Mad – when do we get to watch the episode? I have his book and have been meaning to visit his bakery but not been there yet. These Lamingtons are perfect for Australia Day and for our AlphaBakes challenge 🙂 Your pictures look great!

    • Homemade By Fleur replied:

      Thank you so much. I am looking forward to eating more lamingtons tomorrow! I think the Baking Mad shows start in March. Will no doubt be mentioning it on my blog once I know, so watch this space…I’m excited to see all the other AlphaBake entries at the end of the month.

  3. Abi Purrington replied:

    Honey, your photos are so stunning Fleur how do you take such gorgeous pics? Seriously, they look professional! I have visions of a secret photographer hiding in the corner of your kitchen whilst u and Rosie get busy in the kitchen! They look yummy….might kill the Jan detox plan tho 😦

    • Homemade By Fleur replied:

      Ahhh, thanks Abi. I surprise myself with my photos quite often as I don’t really know how to use my camera! I guess I just try and be creative with the setting and from which direction I take the photo. I often get up on the kitchen work surface or table. If anyone saw me they would think I was mad!! BTW its Feb now so you can forget about the detox and make these 🙂 They taste as good as they look! x

  4. cakeboule replied:

    Ooh these are good and how exciting to meet Eric as well. The photographs as usual are amazing and I love the post and the lamingtons – yum!

    • Homemade By Fleur replied:

      Thanks Jacqueline. It was a very exciting day. Went far too quickly. I ate far too many of those lamingtons. They are soooo good. x

  5. Caroline replied:

    Yum, I’ve never eaten lamingtons before, I might have to try making them! Thanks for entering Alphabakes – see you next month I hope!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

