After School Tea Time Treat – Chocolate and Banana Marbled Loaf Cake

So it is back to school tomorrow for my eldest.  I have loved having all of my children at home throughout the holidays and not having to do a school run is bliss, especially in the current windy and rainy weather.  However, I think we are all ready to get back into the school routine.  My girls have been bickering more than usual the last few days and I think it is because they have seen rather a lot of each other recently.

I’m lucky in a way because I don’t have to think about packed lunches at the moment.  My eldest daughter has school dinners and my middle daughter is home from pre school in time to have lunch with me every day.  This does not save me the chore of cooking a hot meal for them in the evening though because I know that the school dinner is not consistently eaten and I have to do a hot meal for the rest of the family in any case.  So the norm each day is for my eldest to come home pretty hungry.  I can tell within 5 mins of collecting her whether or not she has eaten well at lunch time or not by the mood she is in.  It’s quite simple:

Bad = little hot lunch or sandwiches eaten

Good = most of hot lunch eaten (normally only on a Friday when its fish and chips)

I can’t say I blame her.  I get in a bad mood too if I am hungry, so when we get home an after school snack is most definitely needed to save the otherwise inevitable melt down. I want to try and provide something relatively healthy and avoid anything loaded with sugar or other baddies as this ends up making matters worse.  Over excited children after school – not good.  One of their favourites is a chocolate and banana marbled loaf cake that is so easy to make you could probably do it with your eyes shut, and that is no exaggeration!  It is also an excellent way to use up over ripe bananas or indeed half eaten bananas (with mushy end cut off obviously) which always seem to be hanging around my house.  The list of ingredients is simple too, and I’d be surprised if you needed to buy much.  I normally get at least one child involved in the making too.  It’s a very good kiddie friendly recipe and they will be pleased as punch with the result.  It is easy to eat, beautifully moist and perfect just by itself .  When I give this cake to my children I feel good for two reasons;  a) it has fruit in it,  b) I made it, so I know exactly what they are eating.  I should also mention that after a long day with the kids, this tastes amazing with a cup of tea.

What you will need:

  • 225g self raising flour
  • 100g butter, room temperature and cut into small cubes
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 350g (peeled weight) banana, mashed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 20g cocoa powder
  • Small loaf tin, greased

How to make:

  1. Pre heat the oven to 180c/350f/gas 4
  2. Put all the ingredients apart from the cocoa powder into a large mixing bowl and combine with an electric mixer until a thickish cake batter is formed
  3. Put half the mixture into a separate bowl. Sieve the cocoa powder into one half and fold in with a large metal spoon
  4. Pour the chocolate cake batter back into the first bowl and fold the two batters together very gently, just 3-4 turns should do it so that a marble effect is created.
  5. Transfer the batter into the cake tin, gently smooth over the top and place in the oven for about 50 mins until a knife comes out cleanThis loaf cake should also do nicely for Karen and Kate’s January Tea Time Treats Challenge, which this month is sweet pastries and bread.

04/01/2012. Tags: , , , , , , . Homemade for the kids, Sweet Baking, Uncategorized.

10 Comments

  1. cakeboule replied:

    That looks scrummy for lunch boxes. Good luck with the competition!

    • Homemade By Fleur replied:

      Yes, I should have said that actually, but not doing lunch boxes myself I forgot! Got my fingers crossed for the Little Blog Awards 🙂

  2. beth replied:

    My daughter always comes home starving from school. Great recipe to save the inevitable ‘meltdown’. It reminds me I have a banana loaf in the freezer….might get that out for today!

    • Homemade By Fleur replied:

      I’m sure your daughter would be very pleased to see your banana loaf out when she comes home today. 🙂

  3. karensbooth replied:

    What a wonderful entry thanks Fleur! And what a lovely lunch box treat too….thanks so much for putting such a delectable cake on the Tea Time Treats table!
    Karen

    • Homemade By Fleur replied:

      Glad you like it Karen. Took the rest of the cake to a friends house today, and it was gone very quickly. Although I’m sure this would have frozen too.

  4. Zoe @ecothrifty replied:

    Looks yummy. I will add it to my list of things to do with over ripe bananas! Have a look at the article I wrote – any comments gratefully received! http://ecothriftyliving.blogspot.com/2011/11/what-to-do-with-bananas-that-are-past.html?m=1.

    • Homemade By Fleur replied:

      Oh yes, please do. Loved the banana blog post! And the idea behind the blog. Think I’ll be looking on a regular basis!

  5. Tea Time Treats – January Round-Up with Sweet Pastries & Breads « Lavender and Lovage replied:

    […] and Banana Marbled Loaf Cake.  This lovely entry is from my tweet friend Fleur, from Homemade by Fleur.  THANKS so much for making this delectable Tea Time Treat, it looks and sounds delicious and I […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

