Festive Cranberry, Pistachio and Toblerone Traybake with a Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

When it comes to cake, I can rarely say no.  In fact the same can be said for desserts, biscuits and anything involving chocolate!  I blame my dad for my sweet tooth and for also passing it onto my eldest daughter, who can’t say no either.  I’m convinced it is passed on through the genes!  Well it makes me feel better to think that!  I remember my dad always having a bit of dark chocolate hidden somewhere in the house…just for emergencies!  On his yearly Christmas ‘booze crusie’ to France he would never disappoint, and on his return he would rummage though all the bags and boxes whilst my brother and I eagerly waited and then present us with an enormous golden bar of Toblerone each.  We used to eat a triangle a night and lick it for hours until we were left with sticky hands, dried out tongues, and chocolate just about everywhere!  It’s funny how those large bars of Toblerone don’t seem so big anymore, and they certainly don’t last as long!  I wonder if it because I have grown up or they have shrunk?!

This traybake recipe is inspired by my Christmas Toblerone memories and also because I wanted to bake something that would be suitably festive but which I can freeze ahead of the day.   I have found the most fabulous disposable traybake moulds from Lakeland, (http://www.lakeland.co.uk/15782/12-Traybake-Moulds)  which mean that as soon as your traybake has cooled you can pop it in the freezer without a second thought and tick it off your list in a very satisfactory fashion.  What I mean by that is, super quick and easy but highly impressive!  The red and green from the pistachio and cranberry along with the warm sweet cinnamon spiced frosting bring a wonderful Christmas colour and flavour to this cake.  The Toblerone is a little touch of magic making it some what luxurious.  Perfect to serve on Christmas Eve or Boxing Day with a lovely cup of tea on the side.  Be warned though…your guests might not want to leave when planned if they think there is more of this to come!

Ingredients

Cake

125g unsalted butter softened

125g caster sugar

2 large free range eggs, beaten

150g self raising flour

1 tbsp milk

50g dried cranberries,chopped

50g pistachios, chopped

50g milk or dark Toblerone, chopped

Frosting

50g unsalted butter at room temp

125g cream cheese

300g icing sugar

2 tsp ground cinnamon

2 Lakeland disposable traybake moulds or a traybake tin approx 25.5.cm x 20.5cm x 5cm (tin greased with the bottom lined. No need to grease and line the Lakeland moulds)

  1. Pre heat the oven to 180c/350f/gas 4.  Put butter in a mixing bowl and beat with an electric mixer until pale and creamy.  Add sugar and beat until fully incorporated.  Mixture should have a light and fluffy texture
  2. Gradually add eggs beating after each addition.  Sift in flour and add milk then fold in with a large metal spoon
  3. Once the flour is almost folded in add the cranberries, pistachio and Toblerone, leaving a little bit of each on the side to scatter on the top once baked and iced
  4. Pour mixture into either one traybake tin, or two Lakeland moulds and gently smooth down.  Pop in the oven for about 20 mins until the top is golden brown and a knife comes out clean
  5. Let the cakes cool in the moulds or remove from the tin and cool on a rack
  6. If you are freezing do so without the frosting on
  7. To make the frosting, mix the icing sugar and butter together then add the cream cheese and cinnamon.  Beat together for about 5 mins, until it is light and fluffy
  8. Spread frosting on top of the cake and sprinkle with the saved cranberries, pistachios and Toblerone
14/11/2011. Christmas baking.

10 Comments

  1. Christina replied:

    This looks delicious Fleur! I can’t wait to make it!! You are amazing, I’m loving the blog!!! xo

  2. Nic replied:

    Looks amazing!!! Think I might have to invite myself round for a cuppa (and cake!) once baby has arrived ;o)

  3. Christina replied:

    I made this for a coffee morning I hosted this morning and it went down a treat! The girls loved it and it was super easy to make. Thanks Fleur! Looking forward to next week’s blog already!! xo

  4. whatkatebaked replied:

    What a festive recipe! And great tip about the Lakeland disposable trays…those are going on my wish list!!

  5. Carole McAteer replied:

    Fleur, I have one only day off between now and Christmas Day and I have a whole house to clean. I must make this!!!! and then maybe I won’t feel so guilty about not baking anything else. I will surely be forgiven for serving up this slice of heaven. Thank you xx

    • Homemade By Fleur replied:

      Hi Carole, your comment has made my day! You are right though, all will be forgiven if you make some of this. It is fab and well worth the effort. X

  6. Carole McAteer replied:

    Fleur, I placed an order with Lakeland today and forgot to order the moulds – silly me. However, they are going to discontinue them! I have e-mailed and asked them to reconsider this decision. Perhaps you could contact them too – People Power and all that…xx

    • Homemade By Fleur replied:

      That would be such a shame. I think they are great. Will get in touch and probably buy a fees packs next time I’m in. Thanks for letting me know.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

